University of Wisconsin–Madison
Webinar Icon

What’s Behind Slow Wage Growth?

  • Michael R. Strain
  • January 23 2019
  • W48-2019

January 23, 2019
2–3 pm EST/1–2 pm CST/12–1 pm MST/11am–12 pm PST

Register Online | Add to Calendar (iCal file)

Michael R. Strain

The U.S. labor market appears to be strong, with low unemployment and record numbers of job openings in 2018. Yet wage growth remains slower than many economists and analysts would expect. In this webinar, Michael Strain of the American Enterprise Institute (AEI) will discuss potential factors behind this slow growth in wages and examine differences in trends across specific groups. He will also talk about policies with the potential to address wage growth and labor force participation, especially for lower income Americans.

Categories

Employment, Inequality & Mobility, Inequality & Mobility General, Labor Market, Low-Wage Work, Unemployment/Nonemployment

Tags