Webinar Icon

The Effects of Immigration Enforcement on Vulnerable Individuals and Communities

  • Michael T. Light, Joaquín Alfredo-Angel Rubalcaba, and Asad L. Asad
  • April 24 2024
  • W111-2024

Wednesday, April 24, 2024
2:00-3:00 Eastern | 1:00-2:00 Central | 12:00-1:00 Mountain | 11:00-12:00 Pacific

Register Now | Add to Calendar (iCal file)

Michael Light

Joaquín Alfredo-Angel Rubalcaba

Asad L. Asad

Michael T. Light, Professor of Sociology at the University of Wisconsin–Madison
Joaquín Alfredo-Angel Rubalcaba, Assistant Professor in the Department of Public Policy at UNC Chapel Hill
Asad L. Asad, Assistant Professor of Sociology at Stanford University and a faculty affiliate of the Stanford Center for Comparative Studies of Race and Ethnicity

Immigrants without legal status face many risks and challenges on a daily basis as they pursue a better life for themselves and their families. In addition, there is a ripple effect for members of their households and communities, even if others are citizens or are in the United States legally. In this webinar, we will explore impacts on the health, education, employment, and safety of members of already vulnerable communities when there is an actual increase in governmental surveillance or simply the looming threat of enforcement, and what that means for society as a whole.

Categories

Child Poverty, Children, Economic Support, Economic Support General, Education & Training, Education & Training General, Health, Immigration, Inequality & Mobility, Justice System, Labor Market, Policing, Racial/Ethnic Inequality, Social Determinants of Health

Tags