University of Wisconsin–Madison
Webinar Icon

How have the Working Poor and Working Class Fared since the Great Recession?

  • Erica Groshen, Timothy Smeeding, Fenaba Addo, William Darity, Jr., Jasmine Simington, and Jeff Smith
  • October 27 2021
  • W82-2021

October 27, 2021
1:00–2:15 pm Eastern, 12:00–1:15 pm Central, 11:00 am–12:15 pm Mountain, 10:00–11:15 am Pacific

Register Now | Add to Calendar (iCal file)

Erica Groshen

Timothy Smeeding

Fenaba Addo

William Darity, Jr.

Jasmine Simington

Erica Groshen
, Cornell University
Timothy Smeeding, University of Wisconsin–Madison
Fenaba Addo, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
William Darity, Jr., Duke University
Jasmine Simington, University of Michigan
Jeff Smith, University of Wisconsin–Madison

This webinar, featuring work from a new volume of the ANNALS of the American Academy of Political and Social Science, will cover a broad range of issues and policies that have affected working class Americans in the decade-long recovery from the Great Recession and the onset of the COVID recession and recovery. The presenters, including Erica Groshen (Moderator), Timothy Smeeding (volume editor), Fenaba Addo, Jasmine Simington, and Jeff Smith, will address racial differences in wealth accumulation, geographical variation in worker and community success and distress, Career and Technical Education (CTE) and workforce entry, and a broad range of economic contexts, policies, and outcomes for lower-income workers and families.

Categories

Economic Support, Education & Training, Employment, Inequality & Mobility, Job Training, Justice System, Justice System General, Labor Market, Low-Wage Work, Means-Tested Programs, Place, Place General, Racial/Ethnic Inequality, Social Insurance Programs, Unemployment/Nonemployment, Wealth

Tags

, ,