John Karl Scholz, Former IRP Director, Named Dean of College of Letters & Science

June 4, 2013

MADISON — John Karl Scholz, Nellie June Gray Professor of Economic Policy and chair of the Department of Economics at the UW, has been named dean of the University of Wisconsin–Madison College of Letters & Science.

John Karl ScholzCurrent Institute for Research on Poverty (IRP) Director Tim Smeeding notes, "We are pleased to congratulate Karl on his achievement. A steadfast IRP advisor and supporter, Karl served as director from 2000 to 2004, and is an ongoing member of our Executive Committee, co-organizer of our highly regarded Summer Research Workshop, and a faculty affiliate whose work and connections to leading scholars boost IRP's reputation the world over."

Scholz will succeed Gary Sandefur, who served as dean for eight years and also is a longtime IRP faculty affiliate.

Rebecca Blank, incoming UW chancellor in July 2013 and longtime collaborator and supporter of the (IRP), said of his appointment, "I am extremely pleased to begin my tenure at the same time Karl takes on this crucial leadership role. I have long respected his work."

In 1997 to 1998, Scholz served as the deputy assistant secretary for Tax Analysis at the U.S. Treasury Department, and from 1990 to 1991, he was a senior staff economist at the Council of Economic Advisors. He writes on diverse topics including household saving, the Earned Income Tax Credit and low-wage labor markets, financial barriers to higher education, and bankruptcy laws. He is currently the coeditor of the American Economic Journal – Economic Policy.

The College of Letters and Science is the university's largest academic unit, with more than 800 faculty, 22,000 undergraduate and graduate students, and 190,000 living alumni. The dean oversees more than 3,100 faculty and staff positions across 39 departments, 22 interdisciplinary programs, 70 research centers and institutes, and five professional schools. In 2011 to 2012, the college received $105.1 million in federal research awards.